Session 5 Production Project

Summary

Role

I am the teams Sound Designer.

Intention (SMART Goal)

Within the next three weeks, I hope to make all of our games sound scapes, sound FX, and music. I want the music to not be good, but for it to not be bad, but I would take having it be good too. I would like to learn a lot more about how GarageBand works in terms of making music. I would also like to learn more about how Audacity works for making sound scapes and sound FX. I would also like to learn how to import sounds into Unity, and make them play within the engine. Being sound designer will over help me improve upon creating music and all sorts of different sound FX.

PRE-PRODUCTION – INQUIRY

Leader(s) in the Field / Exemplary Work(s)

Jun Ishikawa is a sound designer for Nintendo. He has worked with Nintendo since 1990, and still works with them today. He has composed music and other sound FX for games like Kirby, Smash Bros Brawl, and a ton more games from Nintendo.

Training Source(s)

0:46: Start a new project in GarageBand.

Opens a menu with different templates for creating music, or an empty template.

2:59: Different drummer tones/genres.

3:26: Variety of different sound loops that you can use to create music.

4:45: Different sorts of track types.

5:26: Download some of the sounds that aren’t already installed on the program.

6:17: Using a USB keyboard in GarageBand (or a normal keyboard).

Project Timeline

Music

  1. Research GarageBand.
  2. Start a new GarageBand project for music.
  3. Create music either using USB keyboard, or templates.
  4. Export as WAV.
  5. Research about adding sound to Unity.
  6. Open Unity project.
  7. Import music
  8. Make the music play on a loop during a certain scene.

Sound FX

  1. Research Audacity.
  2. Open Audacity in a fresh template.
  3. Record, or import previously recorded sounds. (i.e. voice lines, sounds such as doors, etc.)
  4. Add different effects to the sounds. (i.e. pitch, reverb, bass, etc.)
  5. Export as WAV or MP3.
  6. Research about adding sound to Unity.
  7. Import into Unity.
  8. Make the sound play when you interact with an object, or ambient sounds, etc.

Proposed Budget

PRODUCTION – ACTION

Mechanics Demo

Skills Commentary

I showed evidence for my EQ and why audio is needed for games.

POST-PRODUCTION – REFLECTION

21st Century Skills

Creativity

I showed creativity because I spent time on my music, making them sound good by using the right instruments and changing the EQ to make it sound good.

Communication

Our communication was really good, all of our group mates got along with each other and did as told. Everything we were told to do got done by every person within our group. Only problem is one individual never finished their blog post from the beginning of the session, so he didn’t do much in the group. So he showed no evidence for what he did.

Responsibility

I was responsible in getting all of my sounds done, I made the sounds that the coders wanted, such as background music for the game, as well as the sound effect from the button press.

Ways of Thinking (Creativity, Innovation, Critical Thinking, Problem Solving)

Whenever a sound didn’t sound right, I always fixed it using a different instrument, pitch, and most importantly, EQ.

Ways of Working (Communication & Collaboration)

We communicated to each other on what we wanted done in terms of art and sound.

Tools for Working (Info & Media Literacy)

I used GarageBand to make the sounds and music, and Audacity to add in certain sound effects such as pitch, reverb, etc.

Ways of Living in the World (Life & Career)

I learnt most from the presentation, which is to not look at the screen so often, use notes, not go “uhh” and “umm”, and to show more evidence for what I have worked on.

Reactions to the Final Version

Steve Mazepa: “Evidence of EQ.  Would love to hear your music & sound”

Self-Evaluation of Final Version

Although my sounds and music didn’t make it into the final build, I think I did a pretty good job on my sound FX and music. I learned a ton more on how to use Audacity, and GarageBand.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

  • Learned how to use GarageBand and Audacity a lot more.
  • I learned how to create music.

Grammar and Spelling

Grammarly

Editor

Charles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *